Black Sabbath vinyl box set featuring band’s classic 1970s albums, new mono compilation due in September

RhinoA new nine-LP vinyl box set collecting Black Sabbath's first eight studio albums -- all of which feature the group's classic Ozzy Osbourne-fronted lineup -- will be released on September 6.  A bonus disc of mono recordings is also part of the set.

Black Sabbath: The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978 includes 180-gram vinyl versions of 1970's Black Sabbath and Paranoid, 1971's Master of Reality, 1972's Vol. 4, 1973's Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, 1975's Sabotage, 1976's Technical Ecstasy and 1978's Never Say Die, as well as the new compilation Monomania.

Monomania features mono versions of several well-known Black Sabbath songs, including edited versions of "Iron Man," "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" and "Into the Void," the latter of which is previously unreleased. The disc also includes a 1970 radio ad promoting the band's self-titled debut album.

The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978 also features a seven-inch vinyl single of two songs recorded for the Black Sabbath album: "Wicked World" and a cover of the Crow tune "Evil Woman (Don't Play Your Games with Me)."  The latter song wasn't included on the U.S. version of the album.

The box set comes packaged with reproductions of original Black Sabbath tour books from the 1970s. Only 3,000 copies of the limited-edition collection are being made available, each of which will be individually numbered.

Here's the full track list for the Monomania compilation:

Side One
"Evil Woman (Don't Play Your Games with Me)"*
"Wicked World"
"The Wizard"
"Iron Man" (Edited Version)

Side Two
"Into the Void" (Edited Version)**
"Sabbath, Bloody Sabbath" (Edited Version)
"It's Alright"
Radio spot for Black Sabbath

* = previously unreleased in North America
** = previously unreleased.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.