“We Are (K)not Your Kind”: New Slipknot album out today

Roadrunner RecordsSlipknot's much-anticipated new album We Are Not Your Kind is out today.

The sixth studio effort from the masked metallers arrives five years after 2014's .5: The Gray Chapter, which paid tribute to late bassist and founding Knot member Paul Gray. We Are Not Your Kind is a similarly emotoinal record, one that frontman Corey Taylor calls "dark" and "vicious."

In an interview with the Des Moines Register, Taylor said that the new album was written while he was battling depression and going through a divorce, all while trying to stay sober.

"That's basically the journey I'm going to take people on this album," Taylor, a recovering addict, said. "Show them what happens to depression when you have no chemicals to fall back on."

Meanwhile, percussionist Shawn "Clown" Crahan has described We Are Not Your Kind as being about "evil vs. good."

The title We Are Not Your Kind comes from a lyric on the single "All Out Life," which Slipknot dropped last Halloween. Originally thought to be a preview of the album, "All Out Life" ended up being left off the track list.

The song "Unsainted" was then released as the official lead single off We Are Not Your Kind, followed by the tracks "Solway Firth" and "Birth of the Cruel."

Slipknot performed "Unsainted" on ABC's Jimmy Kimmel Live! in May, during which they also revealed their new masks and a new member: a mystery percussionist that's come to be known as "Tortilla Man." He replaced Chris Fehn, who parted ways with Slipknot earlier this year after suing members of the band over a financial dispute.

Slipknot is currently touring the U.S. in support of We Are Not Your Kind. The outing continues with a giant hometown show Saturday at Des Moines' Iowa State Fair.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.