Josh Homme enlists members of Primus, ZZ Top, Royal Blood & more for new ‘Desert Sessions’ project

Andreas NeumannBack in 1997, Josh Homme gathered some musician pals -- members of Monster Magnet, Homme's old band Kyuss, and Soundgarden among them -- at a recording studio in Joshua Tree, California. Together, they created Volume 1 of The Desert Sessions, an ongoing series of releases created by Homme and a rotating cast of musicians. Now, after a 16-year hiatus, two new volumes are being released.

Volumes 11 & 12, also known, respectively as Arrivederci Despair and Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels, will be released October 15. The release consists of eight tracks recorded over six days in December of 2018 at Joshua Tree.

In addition to Homme, the lineup includes:

Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top)
Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint)
Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters)
Mike Kerr (Royal Blood)
Carla Azar (Autolux, Jack White)
Les Claypool (Primus)
Matt Sweeney (Zwan, Probot, etc.)
Matt Berry (What We Do in the Shadows, The Mighty Boosh)
Libby Grace
Töôrnst Hülpft

Homme stars in a hilarious video promoting the project, which you can watch now on YouTube. In the video, Homme plays for director Liam Lynch voicemails from all the guest artists, all begging him to take their contributions off the album.

Here's the track listing:

"Move Together" (lead vocal: Billy F. Gibbons)
"Noses in Roses Forever" (lead vocal: Joshua Homme)
"Far East for the Trees"
"If You Run" (lead vocal: Libby Grace)
"Crucifire" (lead vocal: Mike Kerr)
"Chic Tweetz" (vocals: Töôrnst Hülpft, Matt Berry)
"Something You Can’t See" (lead vocal: Jake Shears)
"Easier Said Than Done" (lead vocal: Joshua Homme)

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.